LIVE BLOG: 2017 Elkins Municipal Election

Elkinite will be at Elkins City Hall awaiting results from today’s municipal election. We will update this article with results as they become available.


Van Broughton (incumbent) 512 votes

Sam Barbagallo Jr. (write-in challenger) 25 votes 

First Ward

Rhett Dusenbury (incumbent) 33

Robert Chenoweth (challenger) 142

Joyce Johns (challenger) 17

Merllene Yorkey (challenger) 83

Second Ward

Charles H. Friddle, III (incumbent; unopposed) 76

Third Ward

Carman Metheny (incumbent; unopposed) 31 votes 

Fourth Ward

Marly Hazen (unopposed) 65

Fifth Ward

David C. Parker (incumbent) 46*

Robert L. Chewning Jr. (challenger) 4 

Howard Knapp Jr. (challenger) 3 

Cody H. Thompson (challenger) 44*

Jeanie Weese (challenger) 18 

There are four provisional votes out in this ward that will be counted Monday at noon.